Mar 102009

>You put all that time in the seats, be sure to let us know what you think!

Our CineKink community on B-Side gives you the ability to rate your favorites (and, though hard to fathom, not-so-favorites) and leave reviews on the films you saw throughout the festival.

These reviews are keenly anticipated by our filmmakers, fellow audience members, other festival programmers and all of us at CineKink, as we use them to help determine and promote bookings for our upcoming tour appearances.

All you need to take part is an email address, just register here and pass along your thoughts.

Mar 052009

>Slightly delayed by the lingering effect of–and subsequent recovery from– our ever-popular AfterGlow Party, here at long last are the CineKink awards for 2009!

CineKink Choice awards, which go to feature-length works in competition during the festival, were determined by audience balloting at the close of each eligible work’s screening. The 2009 award winners are:

CineKink Choice Award for Best Narrative Feature:
The Auteur” (James Westby)

CineKink Choice Award for Best Documentary Feature:
Graphic Sexual Horror” (Barbara Bell & Anna Lorentzon)
Kinky” (A. Benjamin)

CineKink Choice Award – Honorable Mentions:
Happy Endings?” (Tara Hurley)
Sex Positive” (Daryl Wein)

CineKink Best awards, which go to short works in competition during the festival, were determined by jury deliberation and ranking. The 2009 award winners are:

CineKink Best Narrative Short
Kink, Inc.” (Casey Clark)
Matinee” (Jennifer Lyon Bell)

CineKink Best Documentary Short:
Serving Madame Gina” (Gabriele Hoff, PsyD)

CineKink Best Experimental Short:
Erotic Moments” (Eva Midgley)
Un Piede di Roman Polanski” (Lauren Wissot & Rosanne Kapitoa)

CineKink Best Animated Short:
Teat Beat of Sex: 8-11” (Signe Baumane)

CineKink Best Musical Short:
At the Porno Shop” (Michael Mehfield)

CineKink Honorable Best Mentions:
BDSM: It’s Not What You Think” (Erin Palmquist)
Belle de Nature” (Maria Beatty)
Rubberheart” (Brian Crano)

This year’s jury included Steven Speliotis, a photographer and CineKink alumni director, Viviane, ring-leader of the sex blog, “Viviane’s Sex Carnival, and Bill Woods, a film festival programmer and curator of the New Filmmakers series at Anthology Film Archives.

Recognizing extraordinary depiction of kink and sex in mainstream film and television, the annual CineKink Tribute was presented to two works this year:

Swingtown” (CBS)
CSI: Crime Scene Investigation” (CBS)

Honorable Mentions (aka the CineKink Nod)
Burn After Reading” (Focus Features)
How I Met Your Mother” (CBS)

Many thanks and congratulations to this year’s CineKink award winners – and to all of our ultra-talented filmmakers!

For more details on all of the award winning works…

Feb 062009

>As we continue to tinker behind the scenes on CineKink NYC, coming up February 24th to March 1st, let us whet your appetite with this tasty morsel, a glimpse at The Auteur, a mélange of romantic comedy and raunchy satire that tells the story of renowned porn director Arturo Domingo, creative genius behind such classics as Five Easy Nieces and Requiem for a Wet Dream:

We’ve been admiring The Auteur from afar for quite awhile now and we’re delighted to give this sweetly smutty film a stellar CineKink showcase slot–Saturday, February 28 @ 9 PM.

Hope you’ll join us!

Jan 292009

>Or where’s your nomination, rather, which we’re currently accepting for the CineKink Tribute, an annual award that honors outstanding depictions of kink and sex-positivity in mainstream film and television.

Last year’s CineKink Tribute was presented to the film Shortbus— which was directed by our long-time nemesis, John Cameron Mitchell, and distributed by ThinkFilm–for its “frank, funny and human look at the inextricable role sexuality plays in our day-to-day lives and the many flavors it can exhibit.”

Meanwhile, honorable mentions (aka the CineKink Nod) went to Focus Feature’s Lust, Caution, to ThinkFilm’s documentary release Zoo and to the syndicated series, The Oprah Winfrey Show. (Yes, that Oprah…for the episode “237 Reasons to Have Sex”!) (You thought there were only 236?)

A wide range of works–will it be Tyra?–are eligible for consideration, as long as they were released for US distribution (theatrical, broadcast and/or cable) at any time in 2008. Winners will be announced in conjunction with CineKink NYC, which is coming up February 24-March 1, 2009.

So, who’s gonna take it home this year? Let us know!